This Site is going through a stage of being updated, when I am in the mood to sort photos

Just keep coming back for a visit, and eventually all will be finished 

 I am a bit slow in putting photos of Port Pirie and a couple of other folders on this site as I have had a lot of Family problems keeping me busy at this stage.

I will eventually get everything back on this site when things settle down again and hopefully will be a more Modern Site with the same thing on as before plus some other extra photos

Thank You, for your patience and for your Visit/Visits

I was born in Port Pirie, South Australia, in 1947 where I lived until 1965.During my primary school years, I attended St Anthony’s Catholic school (no longer in existence) and Solomontown Primary School. I attended Port Pirie High School until 1961, completing year nine.

I began employment at completion of high school and worked for Martin’s Menswear for 12 months, and then I became a Telegram Boy for the post office delivering telegrams. After this I became a cleaner in the South Australian Railways to start a career as a Steam Engine Driver.

It was during these years I joined the Citizen Military Force (CMF) as a part-time recruit, this led me to join the Army full-time, spending nearly six years in the Service. In 1965 I relocated for the Army where I served in Artillery, spending time at North Head and Holsworthy, Sydney. After gaining 12 months experience in Artillery, I applied to join the Provost Corp (Military Police) serving in South Head, Ingleburn, Singleton, Vietnam, Brisbane, Rockhampton, and Townsville.

In 1970 I was discharged from the Army and relocated to Mount Gambier, Australia, and worked until returning to Port Pirie later that year.

I met Helen Parr (nee Alchin) in late 1971, who had three children, Patsilee, Sonya and Shane Parr. Helen and I went on to marry, and had two children, Thomas, and Skye.

During my career after the Army, I worked for MLC, Port Pirie Taxi Company and BHAS (now Nyrstar). I worked at BHAS for 23 years, becoming a trainer within that time. From there I went on, to work as a Security Officer for three different companies, including some time in Roxby Downs, SA.

I am now retired, living in my hometown. My Wife (Helen) and myself travelled extensively in the early days of Retirement, visiting a lot of Victoria, New South Wales and a little of Queensland . We also paid a few visits to Western Australia, with one of the trips, travelling along the coast all the way to Perth where we stayed a couple of weeks with our Daughter Sonya (now Deceased 2023).

My brother and I have compiled the Family Tree, and it has been placed on this site, with a gallery of photos.